rightcalendar.blogg.se

Old my little pony games online
Old my little pony games online





old my little pony games online
  1. #Old my little pony games online for free#
  2. #Old my little pony games online how to#
  3. #Old my little pony games online software#
  4. #Old my little pony games online tv#

Traditional techniques account for network transmission time by adding delay to a players input, resulting in a sluggish, laggy game-feel. "I don't care for fighting games, but the detail here and the examples of how designing animations properly can hide network lag was a lot of fun to read.")įor those who don't want the deep-dive explanation, here's what the GGPO documentation says: Advertisement ("Fantastic article," says long time Ars reader and subscriber Ragashingo. For the most comprehensive and nerdy explanation of exactly how rollback works on the Internet, you can read our guest feature here: Explaining how fighting games use delay-based and rollback netcode.

#Old my little pony games online software#

GGPO (which stands for Good Game, Peace Out) is an open source software development kit that gives your game peer-to-peer networking called rollback.

#Old my little pony games online how to#

There's a deep and freeform combo system, an in-depth tutorial to teach you how to play, a slick pixel-art-based single-player adventure mode, and, most importantly for this story, the engine gave the game GGPO. Characters are still animals, but they now include species like a sheep, a llama, a cow, a deer, and a dragon. With Lauren's help and the Skullgirls engine, Mane6 made a new, original fighting game called Them's Fightin' Herds. This is where Mane6 got to help save the day. Fans stepped up, and Mane6 had a modern game engine to work with.

old my little pony games online

#Old my little pony games online for free#

The solution to that problem arrived when Lab Zero Games, creator of indie fighting game Skullgirls, offered to give Mane6 its engine for free as part of a stretch goal on a Kickstarter project for Skullgirls DLC. So that's one half of the puzzle, but Mane6 was still stuck with this old game creator and all of the limitations it came with. Lauren talks about exactly how much work went into the project in the documentary above-suffice it to say it was a large job, but she followed through on her promise. How could the people at Mane6 not take Lauren up on her offer? They had to. We've seen time and time again what normally happens in these situations, and it's not "creator offers to draw new art for fan project," let alone assist with all of the work that goes into not just original character design but all the animation a fighting game requires. She didn't know these guys, she didn't owe them a thing, and they were playing with intellectual property she created. I'd like to pause the story for a moment to really appreciate what an awesome thing Lauren did here. As they released development footage, their game picked up buzz with the pony fan community, and they got encouraged to take it seriously and try to deliver as polished a product as they could with their limited experience and the limitations of the tool they were using.īefore I spoil the rest of the story, I highly recommend this documentary about what happened next if you have a free 40 minutes to spare: They called themselves Mane6, and using an off-the-shelf package called Fighter Maker 2k, they started building a game. These particular fans had an interest in things like gaming, storytelling, and animation, and they thought, "What better way to express our fandom than by making a My Little Pony-themed fighting game?" The cartoons I watched frankly suck in comparison.) I can understand how anyone would want to connect with a world like that. It's the polar opposite of the Hasbro toy commercials masquerading as shows from my childhood well-written, thoughtful, and nuanced, with themes that don't insult your intelligence. (Full disclosure, my youngest daughter is a super fan, and I've probably seen just about every episode in bits and pieces by now.

#Old my little pony games online tv#

We could all use a happy ending right now-remember those? It all starts over seven years ago, long before "pandemic" was a word you had to hear every day, with a group of fans of the My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic TV series.īack in this more innocent time, you might have hopped on the Internet not to read the latest virus news but instead to find an article earnestly explaining to you about bronies and how young adults were really connecting with this cartoon about ponies and friendship. This is a coronavirus story with a happy ending.







Old my little pony games online